Best Moment

Probably one of my favourite moments since I took over as Benbecula Manager was winning back the title for the first time in 24 years. We were tied with Southend FC in 2002 and had one further game to play against North Uist who were a really strong side then with the calibre of players such as Dawie MacCorquodale and Tar MacPhee. The game was played behind the Dark Island with a large crowd in attendance along with the Southend players who were obviously looking for a result that would have given them a chance of the title.

The first half was a very cagey affair with both teams having limited chances and defences excelling but shortly before the break Hector MacPhee broke on the right wing and carried on leaving a number of players in his wake and planted a right foot shot into the top right hand corner of the net for a quite fantastic goal and gave us that cushion going in at the interval.

Into the second half and North Uist really came at us and Dawie MacCorquodale hit the crossbar(this was actually before Hector scored) and we managed to survive a couple of near escapes before Roddy Campbell eased the nerves with another fantastic shot from outside the box which flew into the North Uist net and we were home and dry, 2-0 final score and the celebrations were under way courtesy of Donald MacKay (Rattie) and myself who by this point were on the pitch awating the final whistle. Great memories.

Worst Moment

In 2004 we had a wonderful run in the Highland Amateur Cup reaching the semi-final beating some really good teams along the way such as John O’Groats and Golspie Stafford and were pitted against Back from Lewis in the semi-final. First sour point we had was that the game was in Lewis which was annoying to say the least, why not at a neutral venue like all our previous games… the reason was they had a turnstile, what a pathetic excuse but it was confirmed by the Highland Executive Committee and we had to go with that as well as a Lewis referee and 2 Lewis linesmen, where’s the fairnness in that I asked only to fall on deaf ears!! We travelled up and stayed in Harris the night before, all very preofessional although we didn’t get much sleep with nerves and alarms going off!

The game itself was a game of 2 halves with ourselves starting really well and when we opened the scoring courtesy of a Roddy Campbell header from a Robbie Macvie cross we  looked really good. When Hector MacPhee clipped the post to nearly make it two nil we were still in control of the game but into the second half and the game turned with the introduction of Kevin ‘Bloxy’ Murray who although was not fully fit was still a class act and when he came on it culminated in David ‘Ginge’ MacInnes getting injured and us basically not having the same cover and in hindsight I myself should have made the substitution earlier but kept Ginge on longer than he should have and Back equalised and then went 2-1 in front. We took on a young Mark MacRury with ten minutes to go and when he was flattened in the box with minutes remaining we were looking at Hector sticking the penalty away and taking the game to extra time! Bottom line is that the officials and I say officials bottled it and never gave it as both the linesman and referee were right up with play, it was a shocker and justified my arguments as to why we should never have played in Lewis (Goathill) and never have had Lewis officials officiating such a massive game. Final score 2-1 for Back and to rub salt into the wounds they beat Avoch 2-1 in the final at Victoria Park. We would and should and deserved to win the Highland Amateur Cup in 2004 and that is definately my biggest disappointment in football. To this day I have never seen so many guys crying after a game!! Great memories that year but to end this way was heartbreaking! Only nearly forgot Dobes’s is Gordon Banks type amazing save from a Michael MacKay header!

The team that day was as follows –

Matthew (Dobes) MacRury, Don Dons MacPherson, Don Butch (Capt), David Ginge MacInnes, Ally MacAulay, Robbie Macvie, Don Butch Morrison, Iain MacInnes, Hector MacPhee, Willie J Monk and Roddy Campbell.

Subs – Mark MacRury, Colin MacPhail, Donald MacKay, Kenny MacAulay

Other Memorable Mentions

Billy MacNeil Winners – 2001,2002,2003,2004
Summer Cup Winners – 2006
League Winners – 2002, 2008
Highland Amateur Semi-Finalists – 2004
Indoor League Winners – 2009/2010
Indoor Cup Winners – 2009/2010